About Us

Group photo of twelve linguists in two rows. Seated in the front row, there are five women, and the middle one is holding a laptop with another linguist's face on it. The back row consists of seven people.
Learn more about our FLC members in this short video!

A Faculty Learning Community on Scholarly Teaching in Linguistics

During the 2019-2020 academic year, a group of linguists from institutions across the United States took part of a year-long Faculty Learning Community (FLC) on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in linguistics. The primary objective of the FLC is to increase the availability and quality of SoTL-related materials in the field of linguistics, leading to better pedagogical outcomes in K-12 and higher education, following many other STEM fields such as Chemistry, Engineering, and Psychology. The project has resulted in the training of a cohort of linguists who will promote inclusivity, mentoring, networking, and pedagogical development.

The group meets online regularly, and is facilitated by the two Associate Editors of the Teaching Linguistics section of Language (Dr. Kazuko Hiramatsu and Dr. Michal Temkin Martinez). So far, the group has successfully proposed the formation of a Special Interest Group (SIG) on scholarly teaching, conducted a survey on the shift to remote learning/teaching due to COVID-19, organized a special session for the 2021 annual meeting, and curated resources for a webpage on scholarly teaching in linguistics.

FLC Participants 2019-2021:

  • Dr. Christina Bjorndahl (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Reed Blaylock (University of Southern California; Graduate Student Associate)
  • Dr. Evan Bradley (Penn State, Brandywine)
  • Dr. Ann Bunger (Indiana University)
  • Dr. Kristin Denham (Western Washington University)
  • Dr. Jessi Grieser (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
  • Dr. Kazuko Hiramatsu (University of Michigan-Flint; co-PI)
  • Dr. Wesley Y. Leonard (University of California, Riverside)
  • Dr. Michael Rushforth (University of Texas at San Antonio)
  • Taylor Sharp (Boise State University; Undergraduate Student Associate)
  • Dr. Michal Temkin Martinez (Boise State University; co-PI)
  • Dr. Rosa Vallejos (University of New Mexico)
  • Dr. Lynsey Wolter (University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire)

The FLC was supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1924593. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed on this page are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

%d bloggers like this: